A move in the right direction

I think everything happens for a reason, which I know is a cliche. But, I feel like most of the things that occur in my life that are not always pleasant in the short term work out in my favor in the long run.

For example, my college has a program called keepers and seekers. This program allows people who are currently in housing priority to either keep their current housing assignment or seek a new one. I, living in housing, decided to participate rather than moving to an off-campus apartment.

So, our school’s housing department is slightly unorganized, and this caused some miscommunication between students and the department as to when the room selection was going to start. Me and my roommate who wanted to keep our current rooms anxiously awaited the selection to open. When they did, we got our rooms and locked them down for next year. Whew, stress over. Right?

Wrong. Fast forward to later that day; I just had gotten home from class, and a knock was at the door. I answered the door, and it was the housing director, he wanted to check our room configurations.

I had no idea what that means, so I let him in. He started in my room, and in his excitement, for the size of my room, he said he was adding a bed. But, I had already reserved the room. For myself. No extra bed, just me alone. When I brought this to his attention, he said he’d leave the room as is. I saw the disappointment on his face. So, I told him I’d give him my room if he could accommodate me with a different one I could have to myself. He agreed and told me to meet him in his office in twenty minutes.

I went to meet him, and he found rooms that would work for me, and I got a new room. I know this story was long winded if you’re still with me thank you.

But I think the stress I had in the morning and my plan to stay with my roommate is not what the universe wanted for me. I think they had a different plan that I’m now on track for. I think this move will be good for me.

I will have two new roommates which means that I will make two new friends. Also, I think the distance from my roommate will help rebuild the friendship we had before living together. This move is going to be great! It’s not a big move, just four floors up but, it’s still a move. A move in the right direction and I’m excited about it.

Leave a comment